What Highers Do I Need for Medicine in Scotland?
Exact Higher requirements for medicine at Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen, Dundee and St Andrews. Subject choice, grades, UCAT, and what actually gets you in
Written by the EduSCOT editor
Went through the Scottish college-to-university route himself — Stow College, then engineering at Glasgow Caledonian — and runs EduSCOT and MoneySCOT.
Medicine is the most competitive course in Scotland. Around 3,000 students apply to Scottish medical schools each year. Fewer than 800 get in. If your child is serious about it, subject choice in S3 is where the journey starts — and getting it wrong closes the door.
The non-negotiable subjects
Higher Chemistry — required at Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen and St Andrews. Not preferred, not recommended — required. Dundee is the one exception: it asks for Higher Chemistry or Biology plus another science, but still wants both Biology and Chemistry at National 5 grade A. Without Higher Chemistry, four of Scotland's five medical schools are off the table.
Higher Biology — required at Glasgow. Edinburgh, Aberdeen and St Andrews accept Chemistry with Maths and/or Physics instead, and Dundee takes Biology or Chemistry. Technically possible to apply without it at some schools, but practically essential.
Higher Maths — not always formally required, but expected. A pupil applying with Chemistry, Biology and no Maths looks incomplete. Most medical school selectors view Higher Maths at A or B as a baseline expectation.
Higher English — required at National 5 minimum everywhere, Higher preferred. Communication skills matter in medicine and selectors check.
Typical offers by medical school
| Medical school | Typical Higher offer | Key requirements | UCAT? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Edinburgh | AAAAB by end of S5 + BB at Advanced Higher in S6 | Chemistry + two of Biology/Human Biology, Maths, Physics; AH subjects not specified | Yes |
| Glasgow | AAAAB in S5 + BB at Advanced Higher in S6 | Chemistry, Biology, and Physics or Maths; N5 English at B | Yes |
| Aberdeen | AAAAB at one sitting | Chemistry + two of Biology/Human Biology, Maths, Physics | Yes |
| Dundee | AAAAB at one sitting + BB at Advanced Higher | Chemistry or Biology + another science; N5 Biology and Chemistry at A | Yes |
| St Andrews | AAAAB in S5 + at least BBB in S6 (Highers or AHs) | Chemistry + one of Biology, Maths, Physics | Yes |
These are the standard offers each school publishes for 2027 entry. Widening access applicants receive lower minimum offers (see below).
The UCAT
The University Clinical Aptitude Test is a computer-based test lasting just under two hours, sat in the summer of the year you apply (for 2027 entry, testing ran from 13 July to 24 September 2026). It has four subtests: verbal reasoning, decision making, quantitative reasoning and situational judgement — abstract reasoning is no longer part of it. It is not a test of medical knowledge.
Every Scottish medical school uses the UCAT. How they use it varies:
- Edinburgh sets a fixed minimum — a total of 1850 for 2027 entry — and will not consider anyone in Situational Judgement Band 4 (widening access Plus Flag applicants are exempt from the cut-off)
- Glasgow allocates interviews by UCAT score among applicants who meet its academic and other screening requirements; the threshold changes each year
- St Andrews ranks eligible applicants by UCAT score and interviews roughly the top 650
- Aberdeen uses no cut-off and weights UCAT at 20% of its selection score, alongside academics (30%) and interview (50%)
- Dundee uses no minimum cut-off score
The score scale is 900–2700 (three cognitive subtests scored 300–900 each), plus a Situational Judgement band from 1 to 4. For scale, the lowest score St Andrews interviewed for 2026 entry was 1500 for Scottish applicants. The test can be prepared for — there are free practice materials on the UCAT website and several commercial courses.
The personal statement and interview
Grades and UCAT get you to the interview. The interview decides whether you get in.
Edinburgh, Aberdeen and St Andrews use MMI (Multiple Mini Interview) format — a series of short stations testing communication, ethical reasoning, empathy, and problem-solving. Glasgow is different: a 30-minute conversational interview with two interviewers, covering motivation and teamwork, then an ethical scenario you choose from two. You are not expected to know medicine. You are expected to think clearly, listen well, and demonstrate genuine motivation.
Work experience is expected but doesn’t need to be shadowing a surgeon. Care home volunteering, St Andrew’s First Aid, hospital radio, and any sustained commitment to caring for others counts. What matters is that your child can reflect on what they observed and learned.
The widening access routes
Scotland’s medical schools have some of the strongest widening access programmes in the UK:
- Reach — a national programme run by Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow and St Andrews, working with pupils from S4 to S6. At Glasgow, completing Reach is part of the adjusted offer (AAABB or AAAAC in S5 plus BC at Advanced Higher, for 2027 entry).
- Edinburgh — widening access Plus Flag applicants get a minimum offer of AAABB by end of S5 plus CC at Advanced Higher, and are exempt from the UCAT cut-off.
- Aberdeen Gateway2Medicine — a one-year access programme leading into year 1 of the MBChB; Aberdeen's standard widening access offer is AAAB.
- St Andrews Gateway to Medicine — entry with BBBB at Higher in S5; Glasgow runs a one-year Gateway to Medical Studies programme too.
- Dundee — a widening access offer of AAABB.
These are not back doors. They are deliberate, evidence-based programmes that produce doctors who serve communities that have historically been underrepresented in medicine.
The timeline
- S3 (age 13–14): Choose N5 subjects. Chemistry, Biology, Maths and English are essential.
- S4 (age 14–15): Achieve the best possible N5 results — aim for As in all sciences.
- S5 (age 15–16): Sit Highers. Target AAAAB minimum. Start work experience.
- Summer before S6: Sit the UCAT (July–September). Register early.
- S6 October: UCAS deadline for medicine. Apply to up to 4 medical schools (plus 1 non-medical choice).
- S6 November–March: Interviews.
- S6 August: Results day. Conditional offers confirmed.
If you don't get in first time
Medicine rejection in S6 is not the end. Many of Scotland's practising doctors applied more than once. The routes after a first rejection:
Gap year and reapply — the most common route. Use the year to strengthen your UCAT score (you can sit it again each application cycle), gain more healthcare experience and add further qualifications — but not resits: Edinburgh and Glasgow both require grades at the first attempt. Many applicants score significantly higher on a second UCAT sitting.
Biomedical Science degree — several Scottish universities offer Biomedical Science (BSc) degrees that can lead into graduate entry medicine. A first-class or 2:1 in Biomedical Science from Aberdeen, Dundee or Glasgow positions you well for the graduate entry application. It's a genuine route, not a consolation: graduate entry medicine takes students from diverse science backgrounds.
Physician Associate studies — a newer healthcare profession that involves diagnosing and treating patients under consultant supervision. PA programmes are 2 years at postgraduate level. The role is expanding in Scottish NHS settings and offers many of the clinical aspects of a medical career.
Dentistry, pharmacy or optometry — all three are health professions with their own degree routes, similar Higher requirements to medicine, and careers involving direct patient care. If your child's motivation is clinical healthcare rather than medicine specifically, explore these routes seriously before writing them off as alternatives.
The students who succeed on a second application are almost always those who have been reflective about what went wrong the first time — not those who assumed a higher UCAT score would be the only fix.
The reality of getting in
We won’t sugar-coat this. Medicine is the hardest course to get into in Scotland. Most applicants are rejected. Many excellent pupils with AAAA and strong UCAT scores don’t get offers because the competition is that intense.
If your child gets in: they’re entering one of the most rewarding and secure careers available. If they don’t: biomedical science, pharmacy, dentistry, and veterinary science are closely related degrees with excellent career prospects and significantly less competitive entry. Graduate entry medicine remains an option after a first degree.
The worst outcome is a child who narrows their entire school career around medicine, doesn’t get in, and has no plan B. Encourage breadth. Keep options open. Medicine can come from many starting points.
Frequently asked questions
For 2027 entry all five Scottish medical schools ask for AAAAB at Higher as the standard offer — by the end of S5 at Edinburgh, Glasgow and St Andrews, and at one sitting at Aberdeen and Dundee. Higher Chemistry is required at Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen and St Andrews; Dundee asks for Chemistry or Biology plus another science at Higher, with both Biology and Chemistry at National 5 grade A. English and Maths are expected at National 5 grade B or above. Widening access applicants get lower minimum offers.
For 2027 entry, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Dundee all ask for BB at Advanced Higher in S6 on top of the Highers, and Edinburgh does not specify which subjects. St Andrews asks for at least BBB in S6 in Highers, Advanced Highers or a mix. Aberdeen makes its offer on Highers alone (AAAAB at one sitting). If your child is targeting medicine, plan for at least two Advanced Highers in S6.
The UCAT total score runs from 900 to 2700, plus a separate Situational Judgement band. Edinburgh sets a fixed minimum total of 1850 for 2027 entry and rejects anyone in Situational Judgement Band 4. Glasgow allocates interviews by UCAT score among applicants who meet its other requirements. St Andrews ranks eligible applicants by UCAT score for its roughly 650 interviews; the lowest score interviewed for 2026 entry was 1500 for Scottish applicants. Aberdeen and Dundee use no minimum cut-off.
At some Scottish medical schools, yes. Edinburgh and Aberdeen accept Higher Chemistry plus two of Maths and Physics in place of Biology, and St Andrews accepts Chemistry plus Maths or Physics — though Edinburgh and St Andrews still want National 5 Biology at B. Glasgow requires Higher Biology. Dundee requires Higher Chemistry or Biology plus another science, with both at National 5 grade A. If medicine is even a possibility, take Higher Biology — dropping it narrows your options significantly.
St Andrews runs two school-leaver routes: the six-year A100, with three years at St Andrews then three at a partner medical school (Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh or Glasgow on its Scotland route, or Manchester or London), and a five-year MBChB (ScotCOM) taught entirely by St Andrews. For graduates, ScotGEM is a four-year graduate-entry MBChB run jointly by St Andrews and Dundee; Edinburgh lets graduate entrants skip the year-three research year, and Glasgow accepts graduates with a 2:1 in a relevant science. All are extremely competitive.
Yes. Reach is a national programme run by Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow and St Andrews for pupils from S4 to S6, and widening access applicants (SIMD 20/40, care-experienced and similar criteria) get lower minimum offers — for 2027 entry, AAABB plus CC at Advanced Higher at Edinburgh, AAABB or AAAAC plus BC at Glasgow, AAAB at Aberdeen and AAABB at Dundee. St Andrews' Gateway to Medicine takes BBBB in S5, and Glasgow and Aberdeen run one-year gateway programmes. They are genuine routes in, not tokens.
Sources
Figures and rules in this guide were verified against these primary sources. How we fact-check
- University of Edinburgh — MBChB Medicine entry requirements (2027 entry)study.ed.ac.uk
- Edinburgh Medical School — UCAT (2027 entry cut-off)medicine-vet-medicine.ed.ac.uk
- University of Glasgow — Medicine MBChB (2027 entry requirements)gla.ac.uk
- University of Glasgow — MBChB interviewsgla.ac.uk
- University of Glasgow — Reach programmegla.ac.uk
- University of Aberdeen — Medicine MBChB (2027 entry requirements)abdn.ac.uk
- University of Aberdeen — medicine interviews (MMI)abdn.ac.uk
- University of Dundee — Medicine MBChB entry requirements (September 2027)dundee.ac.uk
- University of St Andrews — Medicine UK qualificationsst-andrews.ac.uk
- University of St Andrews — Medicine BSc (Hons) A100, 2027 entryst-andrews.ac.uk
- University of St Andrews — ScotGEM MBChBst-andrews.ac.uk
- UCAT Consortium — test format and scoringucat.ac.uk
- UCAT Consortium — UCAT 2026 test datesucat.ac.uk
Was this guide helpful?
Let us know in one click.
Anonymous — we only record the vote, not who cast it.
The School Bell
Weekly Scottish-education updates
Deadlines, benefit rate changes and the stuff you actually need to know — no spam.
Keep reading
Higher Chemistry: Course, Exam, and Why Medicine Demands It
Higher Chemistry is required for Scottish medicine, dentistry and vet med. The 2026-27 exam structure, assignment weighting, 2025 pass rate and revision.
Updated 24 September 2026
Exams & QualificationsHigher Biology: Course, Exam, and What Universities Want
Higher Biology: DNA and the genome, metabolism and survival, sustainability. One-paper exam from 2027, assignment weighting, which degrees require it
Updated 23 September 2026
Exams & QualificationsChoosing National 5 Subjects: A Parent's Decision Guide
How to pick the right National 5 subjects in S3. Core subjects, balance, keeping doors open, and avoiding the most common mistakes
Updated 24 September 2026
Scottish UniversitiesScottish University Rankings 2027: Which University Ranks Highest?
St Andrews is #1 in Scotland in all three UK league tables for 2027. Complete University Guide and Guardian 2027 positions for 15 Scottish universities
Updated 24 September 2026
Scottish UniversitiesUCAS Deadlines for Scottish Students: The Complete Timeline
Every UCAS deadline that matters for Scottish students applying from S5 or S6. Medicine, standard entry, Clearing, and what your school handles
Updated 24 September 2026
Part of the Scottish Universities hub
Free tuition, SAAS, choosing a uni, and student life
Explore all Scottish Universities guides